Arizona Building and Construction Trades Council

About Us

Quality Craftsmanship You Can Trust

The Arizona Building and Construction Trades Council has served Arizona’s construction labor unions for more than 50 years. With 14 affiliates representing 20,000 members, the Arizona Building and Construction Trades Council works with its affiliates, labor partners and contractors to provide and continue to grow an exceptional construction labor force.

Committed to Excellence

The Arizona Building and Construction Trades Council is not “your grandfather’s union.” All of our member organizations maintain a Code of Excellence that spells out obligations that must be signed off on by every individual union member. Examples of worker requirements for excellence include:

  • Punctuality and attendance
  • Abstinence from instigating or participating in ANY type of work slowdown or stoppage
  • Positive attitude and appropriate appearance
  • Compliance with employer / customer work rules
  • Workmanship and productivity
  • Safety and respect for a secure job site
  • Treatment of others, non-violence, drug-free job site
  • Personal ethics and honesty

Learn more about how our initiatives to create jobs and partner with government and industry through Model Construction Labor Agreements.

Signature Arizona Projects

We are proud to have provided the training, skills and manpower that built…

  • Springerville Generating Station, Unit 3 – Power Magazine’s 2006 Plant of the Year, completed five months ahead of schedule, 4.1 million man-hours without a single lost-time accident
  • Palo Verde Nuclear Generating Station – Largest nuclear generating station in the U.S.
  • Phoenix Convention Center – One of the top 20 Convention Centers nationwide
  • University of Phoenix Stadium – Named one of the most impressive sports facilities in the world
  • City of Phoenix Municipal Court
  • METRO Light Rail
  • Sheraton Downtown Phoenix Hotel

Elected Officers


Aaron Butler, President

“I’m proud to serve the AZBTC because it gives me the opportunity to advance the needs and working conditions of blue collar employees throughout the state of AZ.”

UA Local 469 Member for 25 Years
UA Local 469 Business Manager
UA Local 469 JAC Trustee
UA Local 469 Health and Welfare Trustee
UA Local 469 Pension Trustee
UA International Training Fund Trustee


Jeff Holly, Vice President

“I am proud to serve the BTC to hopefully be a part of change in relevance for our Building Trades in Arizona.”

SMART Local 359 Member for 23 Years
SMART Local 359 Business Manager
SMART lOCAL 359 JAC Co-Chair
AZ AFL-CIO Executive Committee
Sheet Metal Trade Trust Fund Trustee
Tri-State Pension and Health and Welfare Board Vice President


Jacob Evenson, Secretary-Treasurer

“I am proud to serve with the AZBTC because it keeps me in contact with the other Building Trades Unions and the efforts we are all putting forth for the betterment of Arizona Construction Workers on Arizona projects.”

Boilermakers Local 627 Member for 15 Years
Boilermakers Local 627 Business Manager
Boilermakers Western States Joint Apprenticeship Committee


Richard Chamberlain, Trustee

“I’m proud to serve as a representative of the Insulators Union in any capacity with the Building Trades.”

HFIAW Local 73 Member for 26 Years
HFIAW Local 73 Business Manager
Western States Insulators Pension Plan Trustee
National Asbestos Workers Medical Fund Executive Committee


Matt Johnson, Trustee

“I am proud to serve on AZBTC because working together as organized labor benefits all of our members collectively.”

IUEC Local 140 Member for 24 years
IUEC Local 140 Business Manager/ Financial Secretary
IUEC Local 140 JAC Chairman
IUEC Local 140 Area Safety Committee Chairman
National Elevator Industry Education Program Master Instructor
AZ AFL-CIO Delegate


Jason Sangster, Trustee

“I’m proud to serve as a voice for the Ironworker of Arizona.”

Ironworkers Local 75 Member for 18 Years
Ironworkers Local 75 Business Manager & Financial  Secretary/Treasurer
Ironworkers Local 75 JATC Committee
AZ AFL-CIO Delegate & Executive Member
Maricopa Area Labor Federation Delegate
District Council of Ironworkers CA, AZ, NV Delegate


Dean Wine, Sgt. at Arms

“It’s important for Labor to participate together for our joint cause. People need to step up and serve when the opportunity presents itself.”

IBEW 640 Member for 25 Years
IBEW 640 Business Manager
IBEW 6th District International Executive Council
Labor’s Community Service Agency First Vice President
AZ AFL-CIO Executive Vice President